Between Me and the World


The following poem is an exploration of the effects of a shifting social landscape.  There’s a certain anxiety in the realization that your views define you in relation to others.

Where here there is an unsettling air,
I once knew stillness and depth.
The shifting plains of social certainty,
leftward, to discussions focused resolutely 
on the prosperity of my fellow person.

This shift pleases me in part,
at least in that it acknowledges decency as core
to a positive human experience.

But the ground I've come to know as my own,
well tilled and fruitful in rational exuberance,
is now a toxic sort.
The putrid aroma of sticking firmly to a new pole: 
the preservationist!

Am I now a man of lesser salt?
Am I now cast opposed to those I've observed so intently?
Have my words become the weapons of your despair?

The tendency of the world is to reduce complexity,
to simplify in form and function and package you...
Your ideas are a missive -- 
the short form to humanity, 
in which all you are is not,
but all they see is.

You want that my views are basic to credit your own thoughts.
But your desire is no more than a manifestation of your insecurity.

8 thoughts on “Between Me and the World

  1. “Your ideas are a missive —
    the short form to humanity,
    in which all you are is not,
    but all they see is.

    You want that my views are basic to credit your own thoughts.
    But your desire is no more than a manifestation of your insecurity.”

    Really powerful words. I can’t imagine a more hard-hitting way to put it.

    Thank you again for stopping by my blog, that way I’ve been introduced to yours.:)

    Like

    • The best thing about blogging, which I’ve only done now for a few weeks, is the discovery process. The sharing and comparing–exploring ideas and allowing others to do the same! It’s nice to find ‘thinkers’ out there in the world, wherever they may be. And I also thinks it’s time for poetry to move from the shadows and into the light…there’s billions of people who need exposure to this efficient mode of expressing one’s self.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, when I began blogging I discovered a bookish community that I enjoyed being a part of. It has been awhile since I’ve been a regular blogger though…but it does feel special every time I come across like minds.

        Poetry, I believe, is an art. I’m not good at it. But to be able to express oneself with words that are few but vivid is a challenge I like to take up every once in awhile.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. And speaking of poetry…I find myself reminded of T S Elliot whilst reading through your works. It isn’t the same, but it’s very alike in expression, I think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

